Jamie Farrell

Tickle Your Heart's Funny Bone

Friday Getaway – And a spot o’ tea for me, please

on August 7, 2009

If I could be anywhere in the world today, I’d be in London.  I’ll be there soon enough for a short little visit (squee!), but it’s on my mind today.

Why London?

1. I’ve read a shelf full of historical romance set in London, and I want to walk around Hyde Park, see Mayfair, the Thames, and Trafalgar Square.

2. Definitely have to try some tea and scones!

3. Big Ben has long been on my list of a million things to see.  (And Happy 150th Birthday, Big Ben!)

4.  Stonehenge is a reasonable daytrip away.  (Little known fact: there was a scaled replica of Stonehenge at my university.)

5. Mr. Honey’s going to have a blast at the pubs.

6. Mr. Honey and I have never been to Europe together.  (We’ve been lots of other places, even a few requiring passports, but never Europe.)

7. The Tower of London.

8. There’s just something romantic about royalty.

9. When I was growing up, my mom used to always sing this song.  “I’m Henry the Eight, I am, I am… blah blah… I got married to the widow next door, she’s been married seven times before, and every one was a Henry!”  So how could I not think about going to London during the 500th anniversary year of Henry VIII’s accession to the throne?

10. The Theatre.  I just love a good show.

What would you do in London this weekend?

Leave a Reply

