Jamie Farrell

Tickle Your Heart's Funny Bone

Friday Getaway – DC!

on July 17, 2009

If I could be anywhere in the world today, I’d be in DC.  No, wait… I am in DC!

The Romance Writers of America National Conference is going on here right now.  Picture it: all that love, all that imagination, all that estrogen, all in one city block.  Lots of other people are covering the conference, so today we’ll concentrate on the highlights of DC itself instead.

What I love about DC:

1. Friends!  (We come here at least once a year to see friends.  If you don’t have any friends in DC, it’s still a really cool place to visit.)

2. The architecture.  Thinking about the age of some of those buildings and the technology employed to construct them is mind-boggling.

3. The government.  Yeah, I know, loving the government is a little weird.  But good or bad, it’s our history, our present, and our future.  It impacts our lives every day whether we think about it or not.  So I think it’s pretty cool to be able to tour Congress, the Supreme Court, and the White House, to see all the places where our laws are made, signed, and upheld.

4. The monuments.  A couple years back, Mr. Honey and I did a monumental tour of DC.  I think we hit around a dozen monuments and memorials over the course of 2 days.  All that history, all that granite and marble and water, all those words, they’re all symbols of how we’ve gotten to today.  Pretty nostalgic stuff. 

5. The museums.  They’re everywhere.  And it’s not just the Smithsonian.  There are other cool places to visit, like the Building Museum and the National Portrait Gallery and the Spy Museum.

6. The restaurants.  Maybe it’s a side effect of living in a small town, but I love to go places where I have my pick of hundreds of styles of food, and hundreds of options within each of those styles.  But mostly I like the chocolate and ice cream.

7. The theaters.  Okay, I love this about all big cities.  Bring on the shows!

8. The Mall.  The big one.  With all the grass, the Capitol on one end, the Washington Monument on the other, and the Smithsonian in between.  I love open areas in big cities.

9. Dogfish Head Alehouse.  (Okay, really, that’s Mr. Honey’s contribution.  Though they do have great desserts.)

10. Public transportation.  Anytime I can get where I’m going without having to fight for a parking spot, I’m happy.

What do you love about DC?

Leave a Reply

